The Soldier’s Wife


My rating: <a href=”http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/165214779″>4 of 5 stars</a><br /><br />
This is an excellent historical novel set on the Guernsey Islands during World War II. Other books have been set in this time and place but I must say I really enjoyed this one. The author’s main character Vivienne, felt very real to me, as she is raising her daughters, one a teen and another just starting school, as well as her mother-in-law, who is falling under the spell of dementia, while her husband is off fighting the Germans. Very realistic descriptions of the terror of war and occupation by the enemy in a bucolic setting, a place that never felt ‘unsafe’ until the Germans invaded. Also, the love story felt genuine, I won’t spoil the story but the last line in the book really got me!
<br/><br/>
<a href=”http://www.goodreads.com/review/list/4956005-red-ferry”>View all my reviews</a>

1 Comment

Filed under author, book, review, Uncategorized

One response to “The Soldier’s Wife

  1. Susan

    I’m looking forward to reading this. It’s a fascinating time and place. I got hooked on reading about the islands. They really were cut off from the world during the war. Thanks for your recomendation!

Leave a Reply

